The popup message that appears in the bottom of a page or post after you click update, is relatively new. And it is a bit glitchy.
We recommend ignoring it. Look at the top right of your screen and don’t move away until the saving message is finished.
Once the blue button changes from Updating… to Update, your work has been saved.